Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Noobie Needs a Guide to CPU/GPU Overclocking

Last response: in Overclocking
April 9, 2012 5:24:28 PM

Hey Guys,

I'm fairly new to the Overclocking thing. What I am looking for is a starter guide/mentor to show me how to start getting into CPU/GPU overclocking safely.

I'm a 3D artist and computer game addict. Right now I was only able to upgrade my GPU from GTX 275-> GTX 560ti. I wish I could upgrade my CPU/RAM but at this point I can't afford to upgrade it. So my only other option to increase performance without spending money is to OC my system.

My System
====================

Processor Intel® Core™ i7 920 Processor (4x 2.66GHz/8MB L3 Cache) D0
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 12 GB [2 GB X6] DDR3-1600 Triple Memory Module - Kingston HyperX
Video Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560Ti 2GB
Power Supply 850 Watt -- Coolermaster Real Power Pro 850w Power Supply - SLI Ready
Case Thermaltake Element G
Processor Cooling Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooling Fan System

Goal
====================

My ideal OC would be getting my i7 to around 3ghz or above and increase my ram speed to make it stable.

I've googled "Asus P6T i7 920 overclocking" and found lots of videos and tons of guides. But seems like most of the guides use words which is very new to me. And lots of guides there are always comments like "noob" or "worse guide ever". Considering that doing this all wrong can result in fying my computer, I figured I'd make a post and see if there are any people out there who could help me get started in a safe way.

Thanks for reading my post and I would appreciate any advice you guys have for me.

If any of you have the same CPU/Motherboard as I do, please let me know what you did to achieve
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
April 9, 2012 9:29:30 PM

Start here:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/259903-29-overclockin...