Sign in with
Your question

Raid 5 marked as failed. I'm at a total loss.

Last response: in Storage
October 12, 2011 6:03:46 PM

Hey guys

I'm really new to those raid things, trying to do my best to don't *** it up but I did not back-up some of my data and would be piss if I lose it.

I have a raid 0 + a raid 5 in my system :

2x corsair force 3gt 120gb in raid 0 for my Win7. Marvell Controller 91xx
4x western digital caviar black 1tb in raid 5 for my storage solution. Intel Rapid Storage 10.​1.​0.​1008

So my computer freezed yesterday while watching an hd movie. I then rebooted my PC and surprise my raid 5 array has failed.

CTRL+i in post, shows me that 2 of my drives are now as NON-Raid Disks. 2 others are Member Disks things not sure yet though.

Could not even boot in Win7 for some reason, I had to unplug my 4x 1tb to boot in Win7.

I had this raid running for about 1 or 2 weeks, really odd problem.

I've read a lot of similar problems to mine but I cannot touch exactly what is my problem.

October 12, 2011 7:26:21 PM

The problem is on your RAID5, might be the controller or Intel Rapid Storage. It is not a simple fix and could not download a software from internet, then get it fix. If your data is important, I strongly encourage you send all drives to a professional data recovery company before all chances of recovery are lost.

www.ontrack.com
www.timdatarecovery.com
a c 504 G Storage
October 12, 2011 9:07:08 PM

RAID-5 has a fault tolerance of 1 drive, so verify that 2 drives have died before paying money to a recovery company.

Disconnect all 4 and connect them 1 at a time.
The drive(s) that have failed you will probably not be able see in Windows Explorer or Disk Management.

If you have only 1 drive that failed then all you have to do is replace the drive and then rebuild the RAID array.
Related resources
a b G Storage
October 13, 2011 12:49:29 AM