Sign in with
Your question

Need some advice

Last response: in Overclocking
April 11, 2012 12:01:08 AM

I am in the process of building my first custom liquid cooling system for a case mod. I have a question about the type of liquid to use. I have read that distilled water is a good option and doesn't allow algae of corrosives to build up or stick to the pins on the water block. I am pretty new at this but I have been researching for a couple months in my spare time trying to figure out what parts give me the most bang for my buck and also what is within my budget. Any advice on what liquids are the best to use that lessen the possibility of failure would be appreciated. Thanks.

This is what I have so far:
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swiftechmcp355.html
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml...
http://www.xoxide.com/primoflex-38id-58od-uvblue.html
http://www.xoxide.com/swiftech-dual-quiet-radiator.html
http://www.xoxide.com/swiftech-apogee-lp-low-profile.ht...

Obviously this isn't an extreme performance cooling setup but in my opinion its much better than buying a pre-built from corsair.

More about : advice

a c 150 K Overclocking
April 11, 2012 3:56:03 AM

I would swap out the block for an XSPC Raystorm cpu block.
m
l
April 11, 2012 4:05:11 AM

Any benefits or proven performance enhancements? like i said in my beginning post this isn't a high end performance liquid cooling system.
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
April 11, 2012 4:59:17 AM

well I like compression fittings not barbs, and hay we all started some wear, jest like me, I started small and worked my way up real slow. I also do like chemical resistant tubing, it lasts longer in my opinion. but there is a cost involved, I do not use water in my systems I use antifreeze, distilled water, and water wetter as a additive, to prevent corrosion. hay this is what I do, and to prepare myself for that I bought accordingly. so good luck, and have fun out there.
m
l