Difference between Intel Core i5-520m and i7-720m

Status
Not open for further replies.

polarbunny2000

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2010
I am a student looking to buy a laptop online from a large retailer (not sure if I'm allowed to say names here). they are offering the i5-520m and i7-720 m processors with a price difference of only $100 between the 2. However i'm not sure which to choose? From what I understand the newer processor is the i5 - i guess intel doesn't do ascending number order when naming their releases.

The choices I have are:

Choice 1
NEW 2010 Intel® Core™ i5-520M (2.40GHz, 4Threads, turbo boost up to 2.93Ghz, 3M cache). With 4GB Shared Dual Channel DDR3

Choice 2
Intel® Core™ i7-720QM Quad Core Processor 1.6GHz (2.8GHz Turbo Mode, 6MB Cache). With 4GB Shared Dual Channel DDR3 at 1333MHz.

I am using the computer for basic functions, word docs, excel spreadsheets. I will also be using it as my primary laptop so for my facebook, watching youtube, maybe popping in some DVDs. (It has a BluRay option). I will NOT be gaming on this computer. Basically I want to buy a laptop that I will be happy with for 2 or 3 years down the road as I'm not made of money and not knowledgable enough to do upgrades, etc.

Can anyone tell me, what would be the best choice? There is only a $100 difference between the 2 choices.

rodney_ws

Splendid
Dec 29, 2005
The i5 is a dual core, the i7 is a quad core. When they say "4 threads" for the i5, they're really saying that it has 2 cores with each core supporting hyperthreading. That's a tough call with the price premium being $100 for the i7. Considering your usage, I'd say save the $100 and go with the i5.

Well the main differences between the 2.

Core i5 520M:
is a dual core cpu with HT. (4 threads)
Has a higher stock speed than core i7 720QM.
Has intregrated gpu.
Turbo boost on the core i5 520 (if i remember right) both cores go up to 2.93GHz while the core i7 720 can only have 1 core goes up to 2.8GHz.

Core i7 720: