Looking to upgrade performance for gaming...

con83

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2010
Ok i have THIS computer that i got on the cheap and ive upgraded with a Corsair 400W PSU and a 9600GT.

As of now, ive used it for HTPC and some gaming but i would like a bit of a performance boost and i was told upgrading my CPU would be the best option. Now, my specs (HERE) say that its a AM2+ slot but i was told i could upgrade with a AM3 CPU.

My questions are: If i can upgrade, would a Phenom II X4 910e be a good choice to upgrade my performance with for gaming? Or do any of yall any suggestions to upgrade with?

Or should i just stay with the stock Athlon?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT - I shouldve mentioned this but im in the $70 - $150 range. Im trying to get the best bang for the buck performance upgrade for gaming and HTPC. Trying to save as much $$$ as possible as im a poor college student. :kaola:

Solution
Generally, I believe you won't have a problem with any cards not fitting until you get into the 5870 or 5970. Measure your case and look up the card to be sure though.

The 5770 = 4870 = GTX260 ... approx.

Based on this, make sure you get a card with 1GB of memory for GTA4.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/balanced-gaming-pc,2477-11.html

I would think that you wouldn't be able to max out the graphics but it would be fine. If you wanted to, you could overclock your CPU to match the performance of the phenom IIx2 (about 3.4-3.6GHz to make up for the lack of cache). If you aren't willing to overclock, I would say get the 5770 or equivalent now, lower a couple settings on GTA4 and save up for a phenom IIx4 955.

I'd say you'd get a...
I couldn't get the download to work. Their servers were busy. But I assume it just says the same specs as on the bestbuy site.