No SLI Support Gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H

henrystrawn

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
I have re-read my user guide, and I am still 404 concerning the fuctionality of video support for this board. I can accept that it does not support SLI with the 785 chipset. I currently have a BFG 8800GT OC2 installed, and I have an PNY 7300 GT in the parts drawer. My question is, can I populate the other PCI-E slot and use 4 monitors? I know that through trial and error, I could have my answer. I was just wondering if anyone has tried this without reconfiguring my entire office and migrating monitors, only to find out I have only accomplished a "spring cleaning" for my hardware. I was planning on using 2-19" Viewsonics and 2-23" acers. I am a welder by trade and I was wanting to build an "array" mount. Thanks for your time.

henrystrawn

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
I got bored over the thanksgiving weekend, and went down to Best Buy and purchased an acer h233h 23" monitor that was on sale. I installed the PNY 7300 GT in the empty PCI e slot and moved my avermedia G2 capture card to PCI e x1 slot one. Everything seems to be working OK with 3 displays. My windows user experience index for 3D application went from a 6.9 to a 6.0. I verified that the BFG 8800 GT was in PCIE 1 and at x16, and the 7300 was at X4. I was just wondering if I don't have them in SLI will my gaming performance decrease? Power doesn't seem to be an issue. I have a Rosewill 550 watt PS and the 7300 GT doesn't require an additional power source.

icarusorion

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2010
Hey dude, I got the UD3H

running twin evga 9600 GS0's atm
not SLI or Xfire
runs great!

windows experience index will rate you based off the slowest/weakest card
b/c i have the same card twice there was no change in my index when i installed a 2nd one.
In terms of gaming i dont know if this helps you with your situation but....

running two monitors and one TV 1280*1024 twice and 1024*768 on the TV