Overclocking an Intel Q6600 2.4ghz CPU

dkrebo87

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2010
Ok I'm new at this and after debating for a while I want to upgrade my Dell XPS 420 (that's a few years old), I'm looking to put some money into it. Right now everything is stock, Intel Quad Q6600 2.4ghz CPU, 500GB HD, 3GB RAM, 375W PSU w/ dual 12v rails @ 18a each, and a Radeon HD 2400 Pro (32-bit Vista). I found out that I have a Dell OTP406 Mainboard/Motherboard. I'd like to OC my CPU to about 3.0-3.2ghz, what is required to do this safely (cooling, software)?

So far my plan's are to reformat the HD and install Windows 7 (32-bit or 64-bit) Home Premium, put in a Corsair TX650 Watt PSU that has a single 12v rail @ 53a and decide on a mid-range GPU (MSI 560TI?). I ultimately want to connect this PC to my 40" 1080p LCD TV via HDMI, will a screen that big cause problems running a proper resolution @ X1080? I'd like to be able to play game's such as Skyrim, BF3, Crisis etc...with possible modds.

Any input/advice is greatly appreciated, this is my first attempt at a PC hardware build/upgrade any help is huge, thank you in advance.

Solution
G
you know what?

do it. the 2.4 Ghz for gaming is not going to be the best but its going to be better than what you have now. btw, running at higher resolutions takes the load off the cpu and more on the gpu.

the bad thing your doing is wasting your money to get 2 1 gig sticks of RAM to replace those 512 sticks. (so you have 4x1 gig.)

but the GPU and PSU will carry over to when you get a sandy bridge cpu and H67 motherboard with ddr3 ram. (about another $225 - $300)

everyone is going to tell you NO NO NO its a waste. but again, you will being tossing away the RAM money and you won't get getting the best performance out of your GPU. but it better than what you have now.

and also since you have pci-e 1.0 you may want to stick with...

dkrebo87

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2010