Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Custom WC setup Part Recommendations

Last response: in Overclocking
April 22, 2012 4:19:05 AM

Hi there I am new to TH in terms of posting, but been reading alot lately, as I am looking to build a decent gaming PC

I am very interested in WC but I don't like the look of prebuilt systems!

I would like to OC to 5GHz Stable(too high? maybe 4.5 Stable) :bounce: 

My future, relevent specs are:

CPU: Core i5 3570K (When Released)
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Core_i5/Intel-Core%20i5-3...

Mobo: ASUS Sabertooth Z77

RAM: 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz

GPU: ASUS GTX 670 Ti (When Released)
Or Gigabyte R797OC-3GD / SAPPHIRE HD 7970 OC 3GB

Case: Thermaltake Chaser Mk 1 http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?C=1467&ID=20...
Or a HAF X http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6653
I'm looking to Cool my CPU and possibly Chipset too
budget between $250-300 USD for complete WC setup

Please recommend brands+ models of parts that make up the WC setup.

Thanks! :) 

Best solution

a c 190 K Overclocking
April 22, 2012 9:48:01 AM

I'd recommend checking out the W/c sticky at the top of this section,
but for $300 you can manage a Cpu and Gpu loop

And how are you going to try cooling the chipset? the armour on those boards is not going to allow it, and you cannot buy one of those to rip the armour off,
read through the sticky and decide if you want Cpu only or Cpu/Gpu and we'll go from there :) 
Moto
April 22, 2012 8:12:05 PM

I don't really wanna buy a GPU to rip all the neat cooling off =/ not so keen on that! :ouch: 

Read through, I don't want to cool the chipset anymore, just the CPU! :D 

Would appreciate any/all the help you can give me! =)
m
l
Related resources
a c 324 K Overclocking
April 22, 2012 9:46:27 PM

GPUs benefit the most from watercooling; consider that most will run around 70C at load- you'd likely see in the low 40s at load with watercooling. I know that most of us do, anyway.