New HTPC Build - Any Issues?

DrgnRebrn

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2009
I am building my first HTPC. I have been designing & building systems for 10+ years, and I have learned in that time that it is always beneficial to have input from others. This helps to ensure the components I choose are good quality, but most importantly I hope to catch any hardware issues or incompatibilities before shelling out the money & finding out on the back-end, after the build. So, without further ado, I'd like to provide you with my potential HTPC specs & see what you think. Please let me know your opinions on the products I have chosen, as well as any hardware issues you may see. Tips & alternate suggestions are always welcome!

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 240 Regor 2.8GHz AM3 65W TDP

MB: Gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H 785G ATX
- or -
Asus M4A78T-E 790GX ATX (I haven't quite decided on this yet, & there are a couple other potential boards I am debating. See my other thread HTPC Build - Mobo Decision)

RAM: Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KHX6400D2LLK2/4GR
- or -
Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model CT2KIT25664BA1339 (Obviously this will depend on my choice of mobo

Video: ASUS EAH5770/2DIS/1GD5 Radeon HD 5770

TV Tuner: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Media Center Kit Dual TV Tuner 1213 PCI-Express x1

PSU: Enermax Liberty ELT500AWT 500W

HDD: 2x Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"

BD Drive: LITE-ON Black BD-COMBO SATA Model ihes108-29

Case: nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center
- or -
SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum front panel, 0.8mm SECC body GD01B-R ATX Media Center (This is purely an asthetic choice I have yet to make. I think both cases are suitable & will provide an excellent medium for my build)