Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Considering a SSD

Last response: in Storage
October 20, 2011 9:05:35 PM

Hello all,

I am in the midst of slowly putting together a build and buying components for a major upgrade to my system. The list so far:

Asus P8P67 Pro mb

EVGA gtx 560ti video card (1G)

Intel i5 Sandy Bridge 2500k processor

8G Crucial 1600 memory

--undecided on hd, the one I wanted just sold out on newegg :( --

I'm thinking of picking up a small SSD to hold just the OS and maybe a couple important games (sc2 for starters). I'm completely new to SSD's though. I don't have much idea how big a drive I would need. a (very) rough tally of the size of the relevant folders on my current drive puts the number at about 24G, but how much wiggle room do I want? What are the good/bad drives? Bonus points for cheapness!

More about : ssd

a c 257 G Storage
October 20, 2011 9:37:55 PM

I have Windows 7 Pro installed. With all the updates, patches, and fixes from Microsoft my grand total comes in at 21 GB. Others have reported similar results give or take a couple of gigs. A 30GB or 40GB ssd is typical for a Windows only boot ssd.

Now, I have a question for you. You are considering purchasing an Intel P67 based motherboard, a cpu, and memory. Since you might purchase all three components have you considered an Intel Z68 based system?

What will you be doing with your computer? Business and professional work or gaming?
October 20, 2011 10:01:51 PM

wow, 21G just for windows? my windows folder was coming in at just shy of 12G. Does Windows take up more space than what's in the Windows folder?

I was very conflicted between Z68 and P67, see more here: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/299237-30-help-choose...
In the end I decided on the P67 because the Z68 didn't have any features I had to have, and it had a $10 rebate

the computer will be used for gaming
Related resources
a c 257 G Storage
October 20, 2011 11:33:35 PM