First-Time Overclocker, problems with E6750 and DDR2-

deaf to light

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2008
I'm new to overclocking (never tried it until the other night). Read through the clunk's, graysky, and wolfram beginner's guides and got a good idea of it. Mainly followed Clunk's, I was overclocking fine when it came to booting, temps, and stability tests, until I realized the system wasn't stable. There would be mouse jitters, small lags... and furthermore, there would be huge FPS drops in 3dmark.

Anyway, I am doing it on my 4-year-old build:
E6750
4x1GB G.SKILL DDR2-800 RAM F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ (1.8-2.0V, 5-5-5-15)
Asus P5K-E WiFi AP mobo
EVGA GeForce 9800 GX2
COOLER MASTER Real Power Pro RS-750-ACAA-A1 750W Power Supply

Now this sounds like an entire noob question with a simple answer, but I have spent hours googling and couldn't find one. I set my BIOS according to clunk's guide. I set my ram timings manually to 5-5-5-15 and ram voltage to 1.8. I set my FSB:DRAM to a 1:1 ratio, for mine that is 333:667.

Here is the problem: When I overclock my FSB up to to 399 MHz, (DRAM 799 Mhz), I can benchmark in 3DMark and the FPS looks normal. But as soon as I bring the FSB up one more interval to 400 MHz (DRAM 801 MHz), the FPS drops severely in 3Dmark, and the final score is about cut in half. The CPU score raises, but the SM2.0 and SM3.0 scores severly drop. Also I notice some jittering in the mouse, lagging while trying to scroll down fast in a browser... which, according to what I've read, sounds just like basic symptoms of an unstable overclock.

I had started initially overclocking it far higher, to around 3.6 GHz, with boots, temps, and 8 hours of stress testing OK. I thought I had achieved a very successful overclock, but it was the 3DMark FPS that clued me that something was wrong.

Things I have tried: