SSD making high pitch noise?

spyke562

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2011
Hello Everyone,

I recently purchased a Crucial M4 64 GB SSD. I am noticing after the PC boots up and windows starts I hear a really high pitch humming noise. It sounds just like the noise a CRT makes when you turn it on. I know it is the drive because I have unplugged all my devices one at a time. I do not hear the noise when I unplug the power cable from the back of the drive.

This is my first time using an SSD but I never heard of this before. I am thinking of RMA'ing it back to Newegg because I cannot sit next to my PC with that noise, it gives me a headache :cry:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148447

Thanks for any information

Solution
For non mechanical electronics a high pitch whine is normally caused by a vibration of a component at around 20 KHz. This is close to the freq used by some switching PS circuit. The SSD may (Do not know for sure) contain a PWM circuit to reduce the applied 5 Volts (From PSU) down to a lower voltage to be used by the cells.

I would verify that it infact is coming from the SSD. Remove the SSD but leave it connected should be able to stick your ear on the case. If it is the SSD RMA it.

Most common source is the PSU. That being the PSU, or an excessive ripple component on the 5 V line.
SSDs have no moving parts and therefore cannot make any noise by itself. The noise could be the result of some setting pertaining to the SSD; not the SSD itself.

Sorry I cannot be more specific, but look at all settings and monitoring of the SSD.

spyke562

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2011
Thanks for the reply. Could it be a capacitor in the SSD (do they even have capacitors)? Its just odd that it only makes the noise when the SSD is on and being used. I have unplugged everything one device at a time and it only does it when the SSD has power. Also, I do have a CORSAIR HX750 PSU, could it be to much power for the SSD?

Thanks again