Sign in with
Your question

My computer turns on, then turns off!

Last response: in CPUs
February 5, 2010 5:55:02 PM

Okay, so my girlfriend ran my computer without the external fan pointed on it all day without asking me, when I got home my computer was running slow, I tried to play world of warcraft but it was at too low frames to play, so I check out CPU heat and it was at 75-80C, I knew that was too much so I pulled out the CPU and check the Thermal Paste, and of course it was starting to chip off from it being so dry.

I took alcohol to it, stripped off the old gunk, put on some new stuff.

It's called Dielectric Silicone Compound Electrical paste, I'm a mechanic and it's usually used in cars and anything electrical, I called the local computer shot, gave them the info on the silicone compound, they said that should work better than the usual compound so I applied it like they said, put everything back on normally.

I turn on my computer, and for about 45 seconds it works and gets to the Windows 7 Startup screen, then turns off, so I attempted to turn it back on, and only after about 30 seconds this time it turned off, then tried it again, and only after about 15 seconds it turned off.

Can anyone help me with this?

My computer specs are:

Intel P4 2.8Ghz
Stock HeatSinks
Corsair 1Gig Ram 2x with heatsinks
120G HD and a 80G Second
Radeon X1600-1650 Pro series.

Thanks in advanced.

More about : computer turns turns

a b à CPUs
February 5, 2010 7:45:59 PM

kuromacore said:
Okay, so my girlfriend ran my computer without the external fan pointed on it all day without asking me, when I got home my computer was running slow, I tried to play world of warcraft but it was at too low frames to play, so I check out CPU heat and it was at 75-80C, I knew that was too much so I pulled out the CPU and check the Thermal Paste, and of course it was starting to chip off from it being so dry.

I took alcohol to it, stripped off the old gunk, put on some new stuff.