GA-X58A-UD3R GSATA RAID Config in BIOS Freezing

devt333

Distinguished
May 25, 2010
Hello,

I have zero experience with RAID arrays.

On this board, I am not trying to build RAID just yet, but may do so in the future.
I am just checking all options in BIOS to get familiar with and to make sure that this board is fully operational before my 30 days from purchase expire.

I am going to a BIOS option "GSATA RAID Configuration" under "Integrated Peripherals", and enter it.
It says on the bottom of the screen:

Marvell RAID On-Chip Controller
Enter: Operation, F10: Exit\Save, Esc: Return

So, when I hit Escape, nothing happens, I am not back in "Integrated Peripherals", I am still in GSATA RAID Configuration.
(Escape button works elsewhere in BIOS)
When I hit F10, I receive a prompt "Exit YES or NO", I hit "Y" and it exits back to "Integrated Peripherals" sometimes normally, and sometimes not, meaning that sometimes I can't move my selection anywhere else in BIOS after exiting "GSATA RAID Configuration by way of F10.

Also, I think F10 way of exit is exit with saving, so this would mean that exit without saving, "Return" by way of ESCAPE just doesn't work.

I have no RAID drivers or utilities installed, just AHCI drivers. Since this is a Raid Control, can it be that I need to load RAID drivers before this portion of BIOS becomes fully operational?

There is a noticeable delay both entering "GSATA RAID Config" and exiting it.

RAID experts, what do you think?

bilbat

Splendid
Do you have "GSATA 6_7/IDE Controller" two items above "GSATA RAID Configuration" set to "Enabled"? Do you have a pair of disks connected? Some RAID configuration sub-systems cannot be entered with either of the above conditions satisfied... You would think it would just gove you a 'graceful' error message - but, who knows...