Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Optimal setup help - 2 ssd and 3 HDD

Last response: in Storage
October 23, 2011 6:25:23 AM

I am a total newby building my first system.

I have already installed on a z68 board, the following:

120 GB SSD
60 GB SSD
1 TB HDD
2 older 1 TB HDD

I set it up initially with the OS on the 120 GB SSD, using the other SSD for programs / raid, and the 1 TBD for media. The older 2 1 TB HDD I was thinking of setting up for backup in raid 1. Of course now that everything is installed, I thought this might be optimal. I can't enable intel SRT without creating a new RAID and I think reinstalling windows. Does anyone have any thoughts about the best configuration, ideally without reinstalling windows and reformatting drives (is there software to do this?) Is it worth using the Intel SRT?

I really appreciate anyone's help.

More about : optimal setup ssd hdd

October 25, 2011 2:16:41 AM

You can configure the two older HDD's for RAID 1 without even touching the 120 GB SSD. I use Intel RST on my PC for two 500 GB's WD Black's, i get about 220 mb/s read (remember these are HDD's, not SSD's). However, I noticed that when using Intel RST for any stripe RAID, it uses about 300 MB's of RAM for caching.
m
l
October 25, 2011 5:05:48 PM

nemesis4895 said:
You can configure the two older HDD's for RAID 1 without even touching the 120 GB SSD. I use Intel RST on my PC for two 500 GB's WD Black's, i get about 220 mb/s read (remember these are HDD's, not SSD's). However, I noticed that when using Intel RST for any stripe RAID, it uses about 300 MB's of RAM for caching.

Thanks I will try. Would you suggest using RST for it? I will primarily use these drives for backup, or should I enable RST for my newer 1 TB drive?
m
l
Related resources
October 26, 2011 5:18:18 PM

I would suggest yes if you have 6 GB more of RAM, and I say that because there's hardly a point where I use less than 4 GB on everyday things.
m
l
a c 353 G Storage
October 26, 2011 5:47:05 PM