April 30, 2012 6:39:00 PM

Hi, new guy here, :ange:  recently i got myself a new desktop with such specs:
Intel Core i5 2400
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
ASUS GTX560 DirectCu ii
KVR DDR3 1333Mhz 4gb (single channel)
1TB WD Blue HDD
Corsair GS600W

Now, i have no knowledge when it comes to overclocking. But i'm planning to get myself a dual-kit performance RAM for better speed and also take this chance to learn how to overclock memory.
My current choice is either the G.Skill's RipJawX DDR3 1866Mhz 8gb (4gbx2) running at 9-10-9-28 OR Corsair's Vengeance DDR3 1866Mhz 8gb running at 9-9-9-24.

I've done some basic research and articles on how to and what-not, and found out a few things, which is the performance ram u bought wont run at the speed stated instead on standard 1333 unless u OC it. 1 more thing is something about to OC your ram u need to OC your CPU as well to get optimum result.

I know my CPU 2400 can't be OC because the multiplier is locked (what i read), so i'm here to seek advice, what is the maximum speed and timing i can get out from my current system and which is the best RAM to go for??

Should i go for 1600 or 1866 memory??

PS : i'm still learning about those technical jargons about PC stuff so forgive me if i don understand what's being said :o 
April 30, 2012 7:28:29 PM

1333 is supported. Anything over that won't give results. Ivy Bridge native is 1600.
a b } Memory
a b K Overclocking
April 30, 2012 7:29:59 PM

A couple of things: (first I have DDR3-1600 CL7 @ 1.60 Volts.)
1) a while back there was a comparision on Memmory speed for SB (aka i5-2500k).
The conclussion was that memory over 1333 had minimial effect on overall day-to-day performance. It also stated that the "sweet spot" for SB was ddr3-1600 - reason was that the cost diffirencial was to small.
2) Alot of use moved ram over from an older system ie DDR3 that required 1.65 Volts.