New homebuilt has frozen a few times, how should I diagnose?

brownbat

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2009
I recently built a system, the details are here.

In the last 3 weeks since I've owned the system, I've had a total system freeze* 4 times. I'm a little worried that I did something wrong applying thermal paste, only because I've never done that before. But these freezes seem to happen after I've left the machine for a little while not under heavy load, or shortly after I've resumed from sleep. It's never happened while gaming, and RealTemp (even though I haven't calibrated it with an infrared thermometer or anything) seems to always stay below 30 degrees C. (That's fine, right?)

Maybe it's a RAM thing, or maybe it's just that Win7-64bit is a little buggy.

It does not seem consistently repeatable, I can't trigger it, but it does seem to happen every so often.

Any tips on how I can catch this event to fix it? Can you help me rule out the thermal paste thing, which worries me the most?

*By "freeze" I mean no blue screen, the mouse and keyboard stop responding and the screen gets fixed as it is. Num and caps lock are nonresponsive.

Other than these pretty rare events, the system runs beautifully.

kufan64

Distinguished
May 12, 2009
There's not really much you can do if it happens intermittently. I'd record what you were doing and what was running each time it crashes to see if you can spot a connection (it helps me to write things out sometimes). You could also check the logs in Event Viewer and see if you can find any clues there.

I'd run Memtest and Prime95 if you haven't already.

You're describing exactly what happens if the RAM is not getting enough voltage. What brand/model of RAM do you have, and how many sticks? And what motherboard -- couldn't hurt to know.