Update bios = loss in performance and Wrong RAM Volts

bdonedge

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2009
I have a GA-MA790XT-UD4P and I updated my bios from F4 to F6 because I'm upgrading my processor next week and the site claims that I need to have the F6 version for the CPU I want (Phenom II X4 965 C3). I upgraded Bios, all went well ( I think, I've never done this before). CPU-Z claims that it is version F6. But I have gotten a noticeable loss in FPS. I ran 3DMark06 and have a 500 point score lower.

ALSO, after updating, my RAM has a regular volt of 1.5, and now It runs my RAM at 1.6 . Will this affect anything? AMD Overdrive won't even let me get below 1.6
I don't have an option for under clocking.

I have rechecked and double checked and triple checked my settings in my bios, and everything seems to be running at the desired speeds. My Ram is running at 1333Mhz, my CPU is at 2.8 which is stock, and my PCI-E slot seems to be running at the desired speeds. What other issues could I be running into here?

Also, I am using 8GB of this ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146740

And my CPU Is Phenom II X3 720

I've never messed with ram timings or anything but I see that they are at stock speeds, but I did notice they are at 2T. Is that correct, too?

I'm trying to narrow down why it's being effected.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff

How many times have you used 3DMark? I've noticed that it often drops around 300 points from the first run to the second, then another 100 points for the third, etc until eventually you're around 500 marks down.

As for the DRAM voltage, it's probably an update to address badly-programed RAM. There's one brand in particular that has difficulty running its default settings using default voltage.

bdonedge

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2009
That was the first time. I overclocked my CPU and changed my ram timings to 8-8-8-20-27

opposed to

9-9-9-24-33