Sign in with
Your question

Watercooled PC - i7 980x - GTX 680 Hydro Copper

Last response: in Overclocking
May 2, 2012 8:49:45 PM

Hey there!
I just realized that I am seriously sick of the amount of noise my computer makes. I have a Corsair 800D with a total of 9 fans (including power supply, graphics card, processor cooling). So I decided to change to water cooling.

I am rather new at water cooling although I have used a H70 on one of my older builds.
My Setup:
Motherboard: Asus Rampage III Formula
Ram: 6GB DDR3 2000 MHz Corsair Dominator (Going to upgrade to 12gb)
Power Supply: Corsair 1000Watt HX1000w
Hard Drives: 2x 1TB Western Digital Green Caviar (Going to buy a Solid State Drive for the Operating System)
Processor: Currently an i7 930 (Going to upgrade to an i7 980x)

I am currently using a Asus GTX 470, but if I am going to water-cool the PC more or less completely, then I will be buying a couple of EVGA 680(or the future 690) Hydro Copper's. I'm not quite sure about how the connections would be and stuff though.

What I was thinking was having a large Radiator at the top of the case with 3 fans on top running at low speeds, and the reservoir connected to the Processor and the Graphics Card.

So basically as I am not the brightest mind when it comes to water cooling, I thought you guys could help me out by Recommending me a Cooling setup.

Cheers,
Alexander.
a b K Overclocking
May 2, 2012 9:37:34 PM

You might want to get an i7-970 instead of a 980X. It can overclock pretty much equally, but should be hundreds of dollars cheaper.

I would recommend multiple 7970s over multiple 680s, unless you get 680s that have 4GB of VRAM because the 680 only has 2GB by default and that is just not enough for a very high end build.

Use the money you saved from the i7-970 and get a large SSD, maybe a 256GB. You can then fit more than just the OS on it, such as games. It may improve some stutter problems and will drastically improve loading times.