Raid0 diskd failing

Biev76

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2011
Hi

I have a recent Dell XPS with a raid0 setup, and for some reason the disks are now failing when I try to boot the PC. I also hear a soft alarm coming from the disks it seems. During booting, I get the option to enter Setup (F2) or enter boot options (F12), both of which seem to do nothing. It just continues to a screen where it says the disks have failed, and offers me some options via CTRL + i. I have a hi-res pic of that screen here (the option highlighted at the top of the screen says "Recovery Volume Options"):

http://i1204.photobucket.com/albums/bb410/biev76/IMG_2131.jpg

I am no hardware expert, so I wanted to get some advice before I proceed. Is there anything I can do to fix this? If needed, I can lose the data on the disks, it would not be preferable, but it would also not be the end of the world.

Thanks!

x Heavy

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2011
Are you using ONE disk in total?

At that least two arrays = 4 total hard drives, one of which should fail.

But a total and complete failure indicates to me that you either were very unlucky or burned up just one disk.

Throw it out and replace it with at least two smaller good drives and build a proper raid array. That is one array with a list of member drives. Worry about flying two arrays later.

its may be possible it might just be only one disk failing. if one disk fails in a raid 0 it is like having 1 non raid HDD failing because all data is spread across omne drive. i would try opening it up and try to pinpoint what drive is failing by pulling the power on one of the drives and listening for any noises like a clicking noise.

but being a raid 0 it is likely if even one drive fails all your data is gone

howardp6

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2008