Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Noob needs help!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 30, 2009 1:36:35 AM

Hi,

Total noob here. I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I'm trying to upgrade my video card and don't know what's compatible. I have an HP Pavilion a1610n with the standard specs except I have the 4200+ dual core with 4 GB of RAM and an nVidia 6600 video card. The standard specs are here:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00...

I would prefer to stay with nVidia and was thinking about a 9800 series. Will these run on my system? I also know that I will need to upgrade the 300 watt power supply and again don't have a clue what I would need and what would be compatible. If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it. If you need any additional info please let me know.

Thanks,

Mark

More about : noob

Best solution

a c 1406 U Graphics card
November 30, 2009 1:56:53 AM

the 9800 will run on your system. Check your psu for amps on the +12 volt rail it should be on a sticker on the psu itself. Those cards need between 24 and 26 amps on the 12 volt rail. Another good option would be ATI HD4670 and will definitely run on your psu.
November 30, 2009 1:58:03 AM

first of all do you have a pci express port for a video card?
if yes then go for ati 4850 or nvidea 9600gt, and for power supply about 550w atx
m
l
Related resources
November 30, 2009 2:33:22 AM

Thanks guys for the info. I figured my system would run a 9800 but what about this?

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item...

I would then definitely upgrade the power supply. Would this power supply work with my system?

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=35456&promoi...

I am in Canada so shipping would be cheaper from these sites. Both have sales that are about to end but I won't order if I don't know that they will work with my system.