csquared587

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2007
I just ordered a crucial m4 60 gb as well as an adapter to fit it into my case. I plan on using the ssd as my OS drive as well as put a few programs on it that I use frequently, and keep my 1tb drive for data.

My question is, how do I set this up? I assume I just have to unplug my old drive, hook up the ssd to the mobo, install Win7 on the ssd, and then plug my old 1tb hdd back in and set my pc to boot from the SSD drive in the bios. Is this correct? Sorry if I am wrong, I am new to setting up multiple hdd pcs.

I have an asrock extreme3 gen3 mobo. Thanks for the help.

Yes, you got it right!

cadder

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2008
When I work with 2 drives, I plug in the boot drive and the optical drive, install Windows, then disconnect the optical drive and connect the second hard drive. I turn on the machine and set up the second hard drive, then turn it off and reconnect the optical drive. This will give you a C: drive to boot from, a D: drive for storage, and the optical drive will be E:. If you are experienced with setting up drives in Windows you can put them all 3 in and do it the first time, but I prefer to do it a more foolproof route.

If you install the OS on only one drive, you don't have to tell the BIOS which drive to boot from, it will figure it out.

hunuok

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2009
When I work with 2 drives, I plug in the boot drive and the optical drive, install Windows, then disconnect the optical drive and connect the second hard drive. I turn on the machine and set up the second hard drive, then turn it off and reconnect the optical drive. This will give you a C: drive to boot from, a D: drive for storage, and the optical drive will be E:. If you are experienced with setting up drives in Windows you can put them all 3 in and do it the first time, but I prefer to do it a more foolproof route.

+1.