Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition to 3.7GHz at least.

Last response: in Overclocking
May 3, 2012 4:37:45 PM

Hey guys,

Total OCing noob here, this is my first time. Any idea what I can try as a good attempt at 3.7GHz and then go up to possibly 4.0GHz? Like what voltage should I try first? I attempted a 1.487v and CPU multiplier at 4.0GHz and got an hour and 10 minutes in on Prime95 and BSOD. But I didn't change the CPU NB voltage or the NB multiplier which could be the reason it was unstable. And the reason I didn't change the them because was because they're disabled on AMD OD, the only 2 I can change is:

CPU VID(Voltage)

NB VID(NorthBus voltage)

But the rest, such as NB core are disabled.

I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks.
May 3, 2012 4:49:09 PM

Thanks for the reply, I remember my CPU NB was at stock 2000mhz when I tried so that's obviously a major fault, however just one question. How would I edit the memory to 2T command rate? I'm geussing BIOS.

Thanks.
May 3, 2012 5:18:08 PM

My CPU is a 955 BE, I have a Sabertooth 990FX and a Xigmatek Dark Knight CPU cooler.
Related resources
May 3, 2012 5:22:00 PM

I see, thanks man. And yeah cool'n'quiet is disabled, I'll try run Ptime95 after and let you know.

Thanks.
a c 103 à CPUs
a c 190 K Overclocking
May 4, 2012 2:30:08 AM

And uninstall overdrivel, stick with bios adjustments :-)
Moto
a c 111 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
May 4, 2012 1:40:51 PM

3.8-4GHz at 1.375v vcore with 2400MHz IMC/NB 1.2v should be your sweet spot. 1.487v itself probably generates too much heat, and is questionable for long-term operation.

edit: Nothing really wrong with AOD.

It's handy for testing different settings --- then you can boot into the BIOS and tweak a few things.

I suspect you need to take your voltages off "Auto" in the BIOS to open more options in AOD.

a c 103 à CPUs
a c 190 K Overclocking
May 4, 2012 3:31:25 PM