5770 not working properly

shalin

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2009
Hi guys,

I've recently completed a build with the following components,

phenom II 955
Gigabyte ma790x-ud4p
XFX 5770 (another one as well to run XFire, but cant even get one working at this point)
OCZ reaper DDR2 x 4 (8gig total)
860W Psu
Windows 7

I was running Vista Ultimate, but that wouldn't recognize the GPU as anything other than a VGA card and installed the driver to suit.... So, I upgraded to windows 7 in the hope that the refresher would help - but, same problem....

Now i'm worried that the Cards are not compatible with the mobo???

I've tried installing Catalyst from AMD.com, but the driver installation 'fails', so I tried downloading it on its own, but still fails. :(

This is my first attempt at this sort of thing - does anyone have any useful suggestions? HELP PLEASE!!!

You need to install the previous drivers first, could be a conflict with the drivers that windows installed and the ATI ones. Did you make sure that it didn't auto configure when you first started the system ?
When you first start you would get a message something like, "new VGA detected" in a balloon at the bottom right hand corner of the screen. This would lead to a pop up that asks to Auto detect or connect to install drivers, cant remember exactly its been ages since i last read it. Anyway you need to cancel this also. Then you can install the correct drivers from where you have downloaded then to. The 9.11 drivers include 5 series support so should work ok.
So if you uninstall the drivers again and make sure to not let it do the above, you should be ok.
Any questions please ask.

Mactronix

shalin

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2009
Thank you....