I5-2500k Turbo Boost OC - Can't go over 4.3ghz

digitalforce

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2006
Hey ya'll,

I have had my I5-2500k on a basic Turbo Boost OC at 4.3ghz stable. Now that I got a 2560x1440 monitor and a GTX 680, I'd like to set that OC up to at least 4.7ghz or so, making sure that my CPU is not the bottleneck for high end gaming. I am not interested in a 24/7 OC --

So, I have read a million guides and I have a P67A UD3 Gigabyte board. I set my boost ratio to 43 (4.3ghz) and my TPL wattage to 200. It works 100% stable. If I go to 44 or ANYTHING higher, I don't get past post and I get stuck in a boot loop. I have read MANY users that can easily get to 4.5-4.8 on stock voltages using this method but I can't seem to get past 4.3 which seems really low.

I have a lot of experience with OCing prior to the Sandy Bridge so feel free to share your knowledge :sol:

PS - This is my exact same board and CPU. I tried this and same reboot/loop as before :

http://forums.legitreviews.com/about33850.html

digitalforce

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2006

Do you think I should try a full OC to test that theory? I don't know if my BIOS isn't liking the Turbo OC settings above 4.3..

sharpiedpanda

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2011
I had that problem with my 2500k before and no one really helped me. It was strange because when I added a sound card to my build and altered some bios settings, I was able to surpass 4.3GHz. I do not know the exact reason why this happened but maybe you should play around with the bios settings a little more. (I have had the turbo boost set to 4.5GHz stable and haven't really tired higher)

-SP

digitalforce

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2006
I can get up to 4.9 ghz stable if I disable all the power saving features and turbo boost. If I hit set mutliplier to 5.0ghz, it does the same thing: reboot loop at post. I even cranked my vCore up to 1.5v.