Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Quiet Heatsinks?

Last response: in Overclocking
May 4, 2012 6:07:36 PM

Hello,

I'm a first-time PC builder, and I've been using the stock heatsink for a couple of months, and would love to get a heatsink that works well, and is extremely quiet. I'm looking to do some home recording, and would like the noise from the computer to not get picked up by condenser microphones.

I've been looking into the Zalman heatsinks (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...), but am not quite sure how quiet the heatsink will actually be. Does anyone have any recommendations or things to look for?

I'm using a Coolermaster HF912 case, with an intel 5 2500k sandy bridge processor on an Asus P8Z68-V Pro MB. I'm not overclocking yet, but would still like it as an option for more processor heavy pro tools sessions.

Thanks for any info!

More about : quiet heatsinks

May 4, 2012 6:22:49 PM

Heatsinks don't make noise. Fans do. It sounds to me like the only thing that will satisfy you is to locate your tower as far from your work as possible as all fans make some noise. I suggest looking for long cables.
m
l
Related resources
May 4, 2012 6:35:46 PM

@ram1009: Doesn't the fan on the heatsink make noise? I definitely hear the sound coming from the stock heatsink.
m
l

Best solution

May 4, 2012 6:44:15 PM

cegan said:
@ram1009: Doesn't the fan on the heatsink make noise? I definitely hear the sound coming from the stock heatsink.

He's simply being technical. The heatsink is the chunk of metal, which typically has a fan bolted to it. I haven't used a lot of noctua products, but I believe they focus on low noise cooling products. Coolermaster is pretty good as well.

I don't know if they still make passive heatsinks (no fan), but they did exist in the past, they were expensive and had very thin copper sheets which fanned out like pages of a book. Those may not be capable of keeping up with modern CPU's though.