Adding liquid cooling to my rig (newb)

lumograph090

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010
I'm upgrading from a GTX 470 to a Radeon HD 6950 and I would like to liquid cool the GPU and eventually the CPU. (once I've saved up some extra cash, etc).

I've got a HAF 932 currently case so I've got plenty of room and pre-mounted brackets for a radiator on the inside of the case.

I know my HAF 932 can support liquid cooling and I would like to make the transition from 100% fan cooled to liquid.

I've tried Googleing for some tutorials, but really can't find much on the exact list of parts I will need.

I am 100% new to the idea of liquid cooling, so please keep that in mind.

I'd prefer to not spend more than 250$ if possible 300$ max. Again, at this time I'd really just like to use liquid cooling for my GPU.

Thanks!

*edit* I've also read that you can use non-conductive liquids for cooling systems as well. Since I'm very new to the idea of liquid cooling I would love to avoid destroying anything in my 2000$ build lol.

Take a look at the sticky at the top of the WC forum. You'll get a nice breakdown of the loop as a well as many MANY links to other guides.

All fluids used in liquid cooling are non-conductive for a little while, but metal from the waterblocks will naturally dissociate in water and the coolant will therefore become conductive. As long as you leak test appropriately, there won't be any issues.

At $250-300, you're looking at a universal GPU block (vs. a full cover - it should be covered in the sticky), and I believe some companies make kits for the GPU (rather than the CPU, which is more common). With a good kit, you might be able to afford to cool the CPU and GPU.

lumograph090

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010
Sounds good. Thanks i'll take a look @ the sticky.

Man, there is so much information! Water-cooling seems even more daunting than when I first started doing research for my first PC build.