Sign in with
Your question

GPU Liquid Cooling - NO CPU

Last response: in Overclocking
May 5, 2012 11:25:53 AM

Hi, I'm new to water cooling but I have experience with computer assembly.

Basically this is what is going to happen.
Either of this situations:
1) I am going to get 2x 5970 and put them in CrossFire
or
2) I am going to get 1 7970.

Now I want to overclock these beasts, and I don't care about my CPU, it doesn't need any liquid cooling, just the GPUs. (Don't question my GPU choice, I've done my research and I have my reasons.)

So I have $250 to spend on Liquid Cooling just the GPUs.

I've been searching around and seeing people saying I need to buy pumps, reservoirs, and all these parts, but then I see other things online with "all in one" kits.

System Specs:
CASE: Antec Nine Hundred Two V3
CPU: AMD X6 1055T (Stock)
MOBO: Asus M5A99X EVO
PSU: Corsair TX850
GPUs: Which ever I get my hands on, trying to get 2 5970s

This will be my first setup and I have read a lot about the precautions, that I why I have decided liquid over water, liquid can be non-conductive.

I will be buying off Amazon.
Thanks.

More about : gpu liquid cooling cpu

a c 103 à CPUs
a c 239 K Overclocking
May 5, 2012 1:45:35 PM

Your cheapest route may not necessarily be the best route to overclock your GPU of choice you will need a full coverage GPU water block, because the full coverage block allows excellent memory cooling, and a cooling kit like the XSPC Rasa RX240, however the Rasa kit does come with a CPU water block, but it is probably the cheapest route to procure the kit.

After looking at Amazon, that route is seriously going to limit what you can acquire, but these are my recommendations for whatever you decide to do.

And this is the minimum water cooling kit I suggest you go with for your intentions.

XSPC Rasa RX240 Kit

GPU Blocks

7970 Full Coverage

5970 Full Coverage