Sign in with
Your question

I5-2550k Overclocking Questions - OCCT Errors

Last response: in Overclocking
May 5, 2012 3:35:22 PM

Hi everyone. This is my first build and my first overclock. I read everything I could before OCing to make sure I know what I'm doing, but I'm running into a problem I haven't been able to find a solution for. I have my i5 OCed to 4.4 GHz (vCore is set to Auto), which I think is a modest OC. If I go any higher, I get errors in OCCT. I feel like I should be able to go to about 4.8 GHz or so with my setup.

Today I tried the OCCT Linpack test for the first time and it errored after 30 minutes. I have never received errors at this clock speed.

So my question is what can I do to achieve higher clocks? I think I should be able to go higher with this setup. Am I wrong?

Here is my setup. If there is any additional info I should provide, let me know.

Intel i5-2550k
MSI Z68A-G45 (B3) Motherboard
Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus CPU cooler
Ultra LSP550 Power Supply (I kind of cheaped out here, could that be a contributor to my problems?)

Sorry if this has already been covered here, but I haven't been able to find any info specific to what might be keeping me from going above 4.4 GHz.
Thanks in advance! Any help would be appreciated.
a c 233 à CPUs
a c 106 K Overclocking
May 5, 2012 4:32:33 PM

First, your power supply is somewhere between crap and dangerous.

Second, a Hyper 212+ is a great BUDGET cooler. Generally it is safe for UP TO 4.5Ghz with a Sandy Bridge system. It is NOT a cooler for higher overclocks.

Third, always set the voltage manually. Going over 1.4v can seriously reduce the lifespan of your CPU and is a very bad idea unless you have a custom water cooling setup. Keep the voltage as close to 1.3v as you can. That will probably limit your overclock to 4.5Ghz but since you don't have a 3 way GTX 680 Sli setup ( not with that POS power supply ) you don't need speeds like that anyway.
m
l
May 11, 2012 12:49:42 AM