Sign in with
Your question

Best storage devices for photographs

Last response: in Storage
October 27, 2011 9:25:05 AM

I am new to digital photography and would like to know what is the best storage device for digital Photos.
Thank you

Bernard Moses
a c 302 G Storage
October 27, 2011 1:05:46 PM

Well, that depends on what you are talking about. The flash cards, or hard drives for long-term high-capacity storage?

For the latter, the best storage device is any hard drive that you back up to an external drive. Consumer HDDs are commodities these days; the difference is whether you buy a fast one or a quiet, energy-sipping one. _No_ hard drive is reliable enough for storage of anything that you will need a year from now; that's why the good Lord gave us backup software.
m
l
October 27, 2011 2:00:39 PM

the best storage device for your in-camera storage would be a high capacity memory card. a big, roomy hdd would be needed to store the photos when the memory card fills up. you'll need multiple high capacity, high write speed memory cards so that your camera stores the photos as soon as you take them and get ready to take the next photo.
you should choose memory cards that your camera supports, check which type of memory cards your camera uses (sdhc, mmc, xd, ms pro,compactflash etc).
m
l
Related resources
November 10, 2011 7:20:57 AM

I thank both of you guys for your information, but there has to be some off-line storage devices out there which can be used for long term storage other than flash drives and memory cards. The other problem with these devices is you cannot easily organize your pictures. I have DVDs, flash drives and memory cards, I just purchased a 32GB and 64GB
memory card, lying around every where. Plus, I have thousands of pictures in storage from when I shot film. I need to get this sturr organized in some off line stroage.

Again, thanks for the replys
Bernard
m
l
a c 302 G Storage
November 10, 2011 10:18:58 AM