Sign in with
Your question

How to use my computer at home to bypass a proxy?

Last response: in Networking
November 26, 2009 2:27:46 PM

I'm a doctor and as such I have to make night shifts. Some lucky times there's nothing to do for hours and I spend them on the net.

Recently (not more than 3 months ago), my workplace has blocked all of the news sites. Even Slashdot! Blocking is usually made on a hourly basis, with browsing almost wide open between 16h and 8h (when only those on night shifts remain), but nowadays only news sites are blocked 24/7.

Funny thing is that they don't block facebook or youtube at all. I know the proxy server controls many hospitals in the area and it uses a 3rd party blacklisting service that classifies sites from all over the world. I've sent them emails about the blocking nonsense, but they're your typical bureaucrat sysadmin.

Obvioulsy, most remote browsing services that I can find online to bypass proxies are blocked almost instantly.

I'd like to set up such a service at home. I've been able to detect my home IP using gmail and use my computer from my workplace with VNC or other remote services. What I'd like to do is set up a sort of proxy server that can run over a single ADSL connection and let me browse those dangerous and forbidden news sites

At home I use Windows 7 and Ubuntu 9.10

Thanks for the suggestions.
December 11, 2009 5:17:06 AM

malavena said:
I'm a doctor and as such I have to make night shifts. Some lucky times there's nothing to do for hours and I spend them on the net.

Recently (not more than 3 months ago), my workplace has blocked all of the news sites. Even Slashdot! Blocking is usually made on a hourly basis, with browsing almost wide open between 16h and 8h (when only those on night shifts remain), but nowadays only news sites are blocked 24/7.