Help with Case Fan

phantom1

Honorable
May 4, 2012
My case has only 1 slot where I can install a case fan, how much difference in temp. will it make it I do install 1?
Have this fan in mind http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0253030
will just adding 1 fan make a difference in my temp. while gaming? my peak temps. are 60-65C. And with the 4 pin connector, do I just plug it in the Motherboard?

I got a Coolmaster Elite 430W PSU and a Nvidia gtx 550ti on my buget of 120$ my original PSU was 180Watts.

Solution
What kind of case? If you are modding, have you considered moving over to a new case? There are good models starting around ~$40.

With regard to the fan, if you plug it directly into your PSU it will go at a constant speed, if you plug into motherboard you should be able to control its speed. Not sure if your motherboard/bios will make that easy or not, but its possible. When shopping for fans watch for how much noise they make, and how fast they run, etc.

Edit: yes the fan should help, but depends on what kind of case you are using.

deadlockedworld

Distinguished
What kind of case? If you are modding, have you considered moving over to a new case? There are good models starting around ~$40.

With regard to the fan, if you plug it directly into your PSU it will go at a constant speed, if you plug into motherboard you should be able to control its speed. Not sure if your motherboard/bios will make that easy or not, but its possible. When shopping for fans watch for how much noise they make, and how fast they run, etc.

Edit: yes the fan should help, but depends on what kind of case you are using.

Solution

phantom1

Honorable
May 4, 2012