newbie1992

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2011
Hi, I recently ordered a Patriot Wildfire 120GB.

I've been reading the sticky on the SSD page and so basically, I wanted the SSD to have my OS + games + work station programs on there.

Now, I am completely new to SSDs and would like some advice and what I should know about SSDs so I don't break it. =)

I was thinking of following this guide after I got my SSD, what do you guys think?

http://www.computing.net/howtos/show/solid-state-drive-ssd-tweaks-for-windows-7/552.html

Solution
Given your level of knowledge, *please* follow JackNaylor's outline.

Some notes:
- You disconnect your old HD's data cable so the system forgets its there, and neither you nor Windows Installer will get confused.

- You install your new SSD and install Windows as if it wer a new build. Once that's done, you (power down and) reconnect your old HD. The system may see the two partitions on your HD (yeah, it probably has two, Windows install created a second).

- Windows will assign a Drive letter to your "new" drive. It might not be "D" as you probably would like; it might be, eg, "F" if you have other devices installed. Use Windows' Disk Management to change "F" to "G", then "E" to "F", then "D" to "E" , and finally "G" (your 1TB disk)...
I originally followed all 12 steps when I bought my 1st SSD in 2010.

After multiple fresh installs since then I now only adhere to Steps 1, 4, & 12.
There was no real world benefits for me following the other steps.

With regards to Step 2, all modern SSDs (2010 on) have TRIM, so if you’re using Windows 7 it’s a waste of time to me verifying whether it’s enabled or not. If you're adding an SSD to a Apple computer then I would recommend Step 2.

When you run WEI (Windows Experience Index) in Windows 7 Windows will automatically perform Step 5 for all SSDs attached to your system.

newbie1992

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2011
So.. how should I approach this?

1) Back up files on HDD and reformat HDD?
2) install SSD?