Can someone help me out with a i7 3820 OC?

gsans25

Honorable
May 9, 2012
Her overclockers,

I'm new to all this OC stuff.

Can someone help me start over clocking my CPU? I have installed CPU-Z to check stats. I'll list my system components to help you figure out my OC route.

System:

- Full water cool system (quad rad)
- Corsair 16GB Dominator at 2133
- Intel i7 3820 Quad
- Geforce GTX 690
- ASUS Rampage Formula IV
- 1200 Watt PSU

I appreciate all the help I can get as I dont wanna mess up anything.

I also ran a Heaven BEnchmark and got some good results from the GPU

Capture2.png

GArrigotti

Honorable
Apr 24, 2012

Hello GSan,

So this would be a very, very rough outline. As each system is different and may handle certain frequencies better then others. The key to overclocking is patience. I'd suggest playing with each multiplier and frequency; raising each one until your system essentially rejects the frequency.

That way you know the max settings for each. After you've established the max; you alter the voltages. That way you can slightly increase or decrease to help maximize your overclock.

The results provided are for a Socket 1366 i7-920 that I currently have in my system. So keep in mind that my cpu requires more watts then yours; so I'd raise voltages delicately. But this hopefully gets you in the correct ball-park to tune.

Host-Clock Frequency: 210
Max Non-Turbo Multiplier: 20X (Try 21 as you'll have better L3 Cache or highest on available).
Intel Speed Step: Disabled
Intel Turbo Boost: Enabled
Turbo Boost: 110 A
Memory: 2100 mhz
Uncore Speed: 4200 mhz
PCI-E Bus: 120 mhz
Intel Quick Path Interconnect: 44X Multiplier
Intel Quick Path Interconnect: 9.24 GT/S
Memory Multiplier: 10X
Un-core Multiplier: 20X
tCL: 7
tRCD: 7
tRP: 7
tRAS: 16
tRRD: 4
tWR: 8
tRTP: 6
tFAW: 20
Memory Voltage: 1.5 (Max 1.66 Don't Exceed)
Core Voltage: 1.28750 (Max 1.4 Don't Exceed)
Uncore Voltage: 1.2 Volts (Max 1.35 Don't Exceed)
ICH: 1.10
IOH: 1.10