1920x1080 & 1920x1080 LCDs together dual view ?

Andras

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2009
I have a Samsung Syncmaster 2493HM with resolution 1920x1200, working fine. I would like to buy one more for dual-view. 2493HM is not sold anymore. New model 2494HM has a resolution 1920x1080. How would they work together in dual view mode? Should I choose 2443BW instead (1920x1200)? My graphics card is ASUS Nvidia GeForce 9600 GT.

What operating system do you have? When you use 2 screens you have 3 options.

1) Clone (both displays are the same)
2) Expanded desktop (this puts both screens at the same resolution and spans your desktop the length of both screens. Easy way to think about it is your windows taskbar will go across the bottom of both screens)
3) Extended desktop (Each monitor runs an independent resolution. You have a primary monitor that has your windows taskbar, but the other desktop is completely blank and has its own resolution)

You will use #3. You will have your normal desktop with the taskbar at the bottom only on that screen. The 2nd display will run it's native resolution and you can just put stuff on it. Most times when you just want additional workspace this is what you do. The expanded desktops are usually used for setups with the same resolution and apps or games that will span both screens at the same time. ATI's eyefinity is an example of that with it's 3 screens.

alex3003

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2009
If you use Dual display mode clearly it is ok for go for a any monitor. but make sure your VGA output is in same type. (analog or digital) i think your card is having 1 analog and 1 digital output. so make sure you have a digital to analog converter if you hope to use analog mode in both monitors. And instead of buying monitor, if you have a s-video output in your graphics card, you can use to to connect a television set to your PC, and it will work as same as a monitor but will have some additional options.