USB Flash Drive Error/Unable to Open

moneyonone

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2011
Hi Tom's Hardware forumers,

I have the USB DataTraveler 101 Generation 2 (G2) 16 GB from Kingston that now cannot be read/open by any computer. This USB is farely new, i have been using it for only a few months (i bought it brand new), and just today morning when i plugged it in the computer nothing popped up (usually windows explorer), and i went to my computer and only saw Removable Drive F. It is usually read as Kingston Flash Drive and have thumbnail but now it just says removable drive. So i went ahead and opened it up and the message popped up saying "Disk is not formatted. The disk in drive F is not formatted. Do you want to format it? Yes or No". I thought it was just my work computer but when i went to my home computer, the same thing happened. I have valuable data in there that is really important and so i do not want to format it. My USB is still under warranty by Kingston but i don't know if its just a USB bug or a serious hardware problem. Is there a way to get my USB back to working normally and accessing my files? If not is there anyway to recover all my data from my USB? I will format it but only after i get all my data out. When i right click removal drive F, it says the system file is RAW. I never seen such thing, i remember it originally was FAT32.

Please help me with this, i do need some of the data in it urgently.
Thanks in advance to all

moneyonone

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2011
i just tried recuva but the thing is that, it cannot access in the usb. i can't even go in the usb from "My computer" so recuva also can't access it either. when i run recuva it says unable to determine file system type :S

opehi_09

Honorable
Oct 1, 2013
its aint data recovery problem.its about a new kind of unknown error.
when i connect usb flash drive to my computer,then my computer recognize as usb drive.