Not overclocking, yet silent? CPU

So i figured out an ivy bridge processor would run quite hot, and no matter how stupit this sounds, i realy like to know my CPU is cool :P
Neither man i a fan of overclocking since im new to it... Maybe in the future
And, of course, i hate noise! Everything in my case, leave the GPU out, is about 20 dB, wich i like.

So, any surgestions on a not too powerfull silent cpu cooler ? :)

Budget = 40- 70 $

Im running a black/blue color scheme, tho i would like something a bit lighter maybe? not white, but ive come to like noctua :)
6 answers Last reply
More about overclocking silent
  1. viktorernst said:
    So i figured out an ivy bridge processor would run quite hot, and no matter how stupit this sounds, i realy like to know my CPU is cool :P
    Neither man i a fan of overclocking since im new to it... Maybe in the future
    And, of course, i hate noise! Everything in my case, leave the GPU out, is about 20 dB, wich i like.

So, any surgestions on a not too powerfull silent cpu cooler ? :)

Budget = 40- 70 $
  2. Ivy Bridge does not run hot. It runs HOTTER than Sandy Bridge when doing a massive overclock.

Not too powerful silent cpu cooler? Have you tried the one that comes with it?
  3. geekapproved said:
    Ivy Bridge does not run hot. It runs HOTTER than Sandy Bridge when doing a massive overclock.

Not too powerful silent cpu cooler? Have you tried the one that comes with it?

Read my post again please... I want my CPU to run quiter than the stock cooler, also cooler = Aftermarket cpu cooler..

I dont want the stock cooler due to heat and noise? Now... What was the question again ?
  4. I read your post correctly the first time.

Where in the post does it say the stock cooler is too loud???

In fact you never stated you had a stock cooler at all.

Sorry we are not mind readers, just good text readers.
  5. A silent fan is not going to cool your cpu.

The reason it's loud is because it's spinning fast.....spinning slow=hot