Need help building a good HTPC

misenlai

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2009
I've decided to build a HTPC. I've built (and OC) a few PCs before but never HTPC so I'm really new to this and have no idea what to get . I would listen to any advices you guys offer (hardwares, what to get, how to set it up..etc..)

Budget: $800 - $2000. Let me know if I need more $ ...

Goals:

1. it would be nice to be able to run games well too but not top priority. If possible, i'm hoping to run 3-4 instances of wow, diablo 3, starcraft 2 coming up at highest setting. Also run crysis.

2. Turn this into a home theater kinda thing. The rig will connect to my 46" 120HZ 1080 LCD in the living room to act as a TV and also connect to my monitor in the room for gaming. We will cancle cable and hoping to stream everything live off this rig. Maybe connect to other TVs too at home if it's possible.

3. Going to set up a karaoke system on this rig too.

4. No noise (a must) and no heat

5. High end.. quality sound, also remote controls and DVR, pick up as many channels as possible

6. Small? optional if it costs too much

I also live close to multiple micro-center if it helps choosing the parts.

Thanks in advance

Solution
You can find a recommended system build in this thread.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/269162-31-recommended-builds-usage

And you can read about the components I bought in this thread.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/forum2.php?config=tomshardwareus.inc&cat=31&post=271424&page=1&p=1&sondage=0&owntopic=1&trash=0&trash_post=0&print=0&numreponse=0&quote_only=0&new=0&nojs=0

I should have my system up and running this weekend.

You might have some difficulty finding a "silent" passively cooled discrete graphics card but they are out there. And based on what I read while planning my system if you plan to do any gaming you will want to go with a discrete card instead of the one on the motherboard.

You should be fine with a 4x Blu-Ray...

BlueCat57

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2009