Sign in with
Your question

Any Cooler Better Than The Noctua NH-D14?

Last response: in Overclocking
May 13, 2012 3:09:56 PM

I intended to buy the NH-D14, but then I realised it wasn't compatible with Socket 1155 - and I am getting an i7 3770k processor. This means I have to change my fan.

I was wondering if anyone could recommend me a fan just as good/if not better than the NH-D14 - as I am a noob and this is my first PC build. I also live in the UK and would prefer it if you could find the fan off of:
ebuyer.com

My motherboard is the: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

Thank you!

More about : cooler noctua d14

May 15, 2012 3:32:42 AM

silver arrow thermalright. 5 degrees difference.
a b K Overclocking
May 15, 2012 3:44:27 AM

hnijhar said:
silver arrow thermalright. 5 degrees difference.

this is plain misinformation. the silver arrow might be better by a degree with certain fans but in no way is it 5 degrees better. thats preposterous.

OP to answer your question, no the silver arrow and phanteks equal it and in certain cases are better but the nh-d14 is easy to get compared to the silver arrow and is cheaper then the phanteks.

proof

http://www.kitguru.net/components/henry-butt/phanteks-p...
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/display/therma...
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
May 18, 2012 2:06:12 AM

also, the noctua will give you better ram clearance because of the 120m side fan on the cooler rather than the 140mms on the silver arrow
a b K Overclocking
May 19, 2012 3:27:13 PM

BigMack70 said:
How is the NH-D14 not compatible with socket 1155? I'm running an NH-D14 on my i7-2600k right now, and last I checked that's socket 1155.

And yeah nothing really beats the Noctua. The Silver Arrow and the new dual tower Phanteks cooler maybe beat it by 1-2 degrees, but not in every review. They definitely don't beat it by 5C.

SE2011 isnt compatible. he might have been looking at that one.
a b K Overclocking