Setting up RAID array

Status
Not open for further replies.

snafu7x7

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2011
I have an HTPC that I've been using for a couple years now. Once it started to fill up with content I bought a simple 1.5 TB drive and an external enclosure and used it to expand my library. But now looking back I wish I had just setup a RAID array at that point so I had redundancy and could expand in the future. So the situation now is that I have now purchased a 4-drive bay and wired it up via the eSata interface. I've put two identical 1.5 WD drives in it and everything is showing up smoothly. One of these drives was the original external drive that I've been using for my library so it has probably 4-500 GB of data stored on it...the second drive is brand new and empty.

So my question is simply whether there is anyway to just now implement my desired RAID 1 configuration? In other words, can I just somehow tell the new drive to mirror the existing one and it will synch up? Or do I need to start with both drives blank from scratch and set it up like that?

thanks, much appreciated

Solution
Here's a pretty good article:

http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/132877-2/how_to_set_up_raid_on_your_pc.html

[quoting]

Using Windows software RAID

Windows XP, Vista, and 7 all offer software RAID which is a more than viable alternative to hardware, and easy to implement. Which levels are available with depend on your flavor of Windows

The basic procedure for implementing Windows RAID is as follows:

1. Open the Start Menu, right-click on Computer and select Manage.

2. Scroll down the tree on the right to Disk Management (under Storage) and click on it.

3. Right-click over the large drive icon to the left for operations that will affect the entire disk (extend, stripe, mirror, or RAID 5). Only what's available on your version...

snafu7x7

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2011

thanks but that's not what I'm asking

MRFS

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2008