Video card for photoshop extended user

Oakridge

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2009
I am a photographer with an interest in computers and starting a new build. With Photoshop CS4 breaking into the GPU usage arena, I would like to purchase a graphics card that will carry me into future upgrades.

I understand that for the most part Photoshop will continue to depend on CPU and I am covering my bets with an Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache on a GIGABYTE GA-P55-UD5 LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX motherboard (reducing heat but very adequate processing). These will be installed in a Antec P193 case with the Antec CP-850 850W psu (giving me power and ventilation). This will provide power and room for up to six HDDs, all will be WD Caviar (Black) (currently using).

Now the graphics card is my last purchase.

Demands: Adobe Photoshop Extended CS4 does offer 3D editing and compositing capabilities and these will use the GPU. Albeit minimal for now but increasing with 3D editing future demands.

I read articles here at Tom's that talk about how Windows 7 has drivers that will minimize CPU and graphics card memory duplication by shifting the use solely to the graphics card memory. If that is the case, it will preserve CPU memory with multiple windows operations. Again this is leads to future reliance on GPU for average desktop users, doesn't it?

Question: What card will perform well with PSX now and for the next 2 or 3 years and Rendering High Quality Color from a PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot?

Will not accept a workstation graphics card (no bang for low bucks).

Well depending on budget and if you are gaming, an ATI 57x0 or ATI 48x0 should work. Imo, don't worry about the future now. The GPU won't be used for major GPU acceleration for CS4 for quite a while from now (at least another 2 years). So, I'd invest more on CPU now (assuming no gaming) than the GPU. Also, depending on your work load you may want to get an i7, since that gives you HT for a total of 8 threads.