Sign in with
Your question

Help with a Water cooling kit

Last response: in Overclocking
May 15, 2012 11:07:19 PM

Hi

I'm very new to water cooling and hoping for some advice and suggestions on the kit I've pulled together. my main aim is to make my computer a cooler and hopefully quieter as at the moment it seems to run hot enough to fry an egg off it and is quite loud it has 3 case fans that like to run at full tilt
to start off with this is my current rig is

AMD Phenom 2 x4 965 Oc'd 4GHz
16Gb Corsair DDR 3 667MHz (a lot but was on sale :)  )
Zotac Nvidia GeForce 470GTX 1.2GB
Gigabyte Motherboard GA-870A-UD3
Antec Case not 100% sure which as i've had it a long time and can't find it on the internet anymore

below is the kit i've priced up on overclockers.co.uk

1x XSPCX2O 750 Dual 5.25” Bay Reservoir Pump (£58.98)
1x XSPC RayStorm CPU/APU WaterBlock (AMD) (£49.98)
1x XSPC Rasa CPU AMD AM3 Kit (Black) (£6.98)
1x XSPC RS240 120mm Radiator - Black (£38.99)
1x EK-VGA Supreme HF - Nickel Acetal (£38.99)
2x Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm 1150 RPM - 3 Pin (£25.96)
1x Mayhems X1 UV Oil Black Premixed Watercooling Fluid 1L (£7.99)
2x XSPC HighFlex Hose 1/2" ID, 3/4" OD, 19/12.7mm, 2m, Clear (£13.96)
8x EK 12mm (1/2") G1/4 High-Flow Barb Fitting (£23.68)
8x PrimoChill Black Steel Spring Clips - 1/2" (£5.60)

Total cost inc shipping(£10) £291.62

this seems quite expensive but my thinking is in the long term as my computer evolves I'd only really need to change the CPU and VGA block on a semi-regular basis. so would pay off in the longer term

Have I missed anything? or are there better suggestions as to the parts I've picked.

In terms of budget Ideally I don't want to spend a huge amount more however if it's really worth it then i could stretch to £350

I looked at the kits available and they only ever seem to do the CPU or don't support my Graphics card plus from reviews i've read the use non standard part which would make it hard to expand at a later date.