Sign in with
Your question

Core i7 Silverstone Raven 2 Build

Last response: in Systems
December 2, 2009 4:33:13 PM

Hello. I'm brand new to the site and brand new to the world of custom PC building. I've been (foolishly) buying Dell and Compaq PCs and have stepped up to the plate in building my own customized machine. This is my first computer build and I have little experience but have intermediate knowledge of computer systems, components and etc. I am a mechanical engineer so I learn quick and I'm good with specifications and details.

I scored a insane deal on Newegg and Microcenter (10% cashback and $199 for Core i7 920!) over this past black friday and have purchased the parts seen below. Most components have arrived but I'm still waiting for the case:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: (Nov. 26th) COST: (e.g.: $1240) After rebates and Bing cashback.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: (Gaming, Tuning, just having a powerful machine in general because this America and I can.)

OVERCLOCKING: Hell yes SLI OR CROSSFIRE: In due time

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920 x 1080

COMPONENTS PURCHASED:

Mobo: EVGA X58 SLI LE
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Memory: G.Skill 6GB DDR3 1600Mhz
GPU: 1x EVGA GeForce GTX 260
HDD: 1x WD Caviar Black 750GB
Power: Corsair TX-750 Watt PSU
Case: Silverstone Raven RV02
TOTAL PRICE: $1040 after rebates and cash back

Monitor: ASUS 24" VW246H 1920x1080
PRICE: $200
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------