Sign in with
Your question

M2N32 SLI Deluxe board with Phenom II 940, help with cooling!

Last response: in CPUs
February 13, 2010 7:04:14 AM

Hey everyone,

First a disclaimer: I am a complete noob to this type of stuff, and as such, I may use incorrect wording or terms.

I just recently put a Phenom II 940 into my old M2N32 SLI Deluxe board (knowing full well that it is not officially supported). All went well, no problems with installation or performance. (for the record I am doing no OC'ing)

The only issue I have is the temp. I idle around the mid to high 40s (45c - 49c) and under load I generall hit 60c - 65c, sometimes a little higher. I know AMD says that 62c is the max for this CPU. My brother (who is much more versed in comuters than I - he helped to install) seems to think that the temperatures are just being misread by the board as it is not officially supported. We used the nVidia System Monitor and Core Temp (they both report the same temp). I have experienced no stability issues or any problems at all - I tried an overnight Prime95 test, and no errors or problems. As well, I have not actually had any issues with any gaming or anything else for that matter.

However, I find it bothersome knowing that the temp might be actually running that high. My stock HSF is running at very high rates (generally in the low 4000 or high 3000 rpm in idle, and up to an annoying 5700 to 5800 rpm under load), so the fan gets rather noisy under load and it is very aggitating (there is a buzzing noise in the higher rates).

Anyways, this brings me to my questions. I am considering getting a 3rd party HSF for the CPU. The one I was looking at was the Xigmatek HDT-S1283. Ive read some very good things about this one, so I was wondering if anyone could help me here: