Sign in with
Your question

What... the hell...

Last response: in Overclocking
May 17, 2012 4:40:41 PM

I'm not a seasoned veteran when it comes to overclocking but I am by no means a novice when it comes to computers in general, so this is particularly infuriating for me at the moment... Should list hardware first I suppose...

MB: Asus M4A78-E
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE
RAM: OCZ Reaper DDR2
PSU: Corsair 750w
bla bla bla

This setup just will not OC, in any fashion... It makes no sense... Prime95 stresses don't yield crashes normally, ever... but even one small adjustment to anything in the bios other than my RAM freq (system default is 800 but this board and the ram both support operation at 1066 standard, though its at 800 presently for the purposes of a clean OC).... I don't know what the hell the problem is... I've scoured this forum and countless others on Google and there is just nothing out there that I've found yet that I a) didnt already know and b) actually proved helpful. So, please... Save the unhelpful, condescending "use the search function noob, thats why its there" remarks. ;) 

This CPU comes stock at 3.2GHz (200x16) and with every single setting in the BIOS on Auto it just refuses to budge on anything. I've bumped up the CPU multiplier alone without touching the voltages, bringing it from stock 3.2 to 3.4 and even 3.3..... start stressing, down it goes... I don't get where people are pulling this pushing 3.6-3.8ghz without touching voltages at all *** from, even with voltages adjusted this thing continues to boot into windows and then die in tests... i went up one notch at a time on the core voltage with the multiplier at 17x, which is only a 200mhz rise in frequency mind you, and not one voltage provided any extra stability.