NO gaming, but HD video edit+ multitasking;< 2000$

ArnsteinB

Distinguished
Dec 4, 2009
Hi everyone!
It seems like it is mostly gamers here :) , but I'm sure there are plenty of expertice here to help people like me too..?
Bought my first computer in -85 and started to build them myself in -92.
I'm living and working in front of my two screens, but I'm not a regular visitor to THG...
I'm an architect and have absolutely no interest in gaming. Last game played was "Wolfenstein" and "Flashback" back in -93(?).

But, I like/need to have plenty of browsertabs and programs running, and editing HD video + edit/stitching HUGE jpg-panoramaes (so far "only" up to 370 megapixels). Sometimes PSD-files (PhotoShop) with 100 layers with 21 Mp images...
In my work I use AutoCAD, usually 2D, but sometimes 3D.

My current setup:
Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E4500, 2.2 GHz
Mainboard : Micro-Star P4M890M3-V
Monitor Type : 2 x Samsung SyncMaster 245B (1920x1200). Will upgrade to 27" 2560x1600 next year.
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT
3GB RAM
Windows Ultimate 64bit

I need/want a lot more speed, and I want to buy something like listed below.
I would really appricate your comments on the list, and your suggestions.
Is this a good setup for my needs?
Where should/could I spend more/less money?

My new setup..?
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition. Or Intel...?
Radeon HD 5850 1GB . Overkill?
Corsair SSD Performance P128 2,5" 128GB
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe, Socket-AM3
Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz 8GB CL9. Maybe 16 GB?
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Lite-On iHES208 Combo Blu-Ray
2 x 27" LCD's, 2560x1600.

I have a 650w powersuplly. I assume I can still use that?
I will probaly buy a new HD (1TB), but still use my 250 and 500 GB HDs, DVD-burners and others)

The prices in Norway are like Neweggs prices.
I know that many of you can only dream of using this kind of money on your hardware, but you will get there too!