Sign in with
Your question

Newbie Question. 256 Mb ATI vs Intel On-Board

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 5, 2009 5:47:18 PM

Hey All,
Newbie here, be gentle. Here's the deal. I just purchased a used Dell Inspiron 545 with a Core 2 Quad Q9400, 8GB DDR2 RAM, 300W PSU, blah, blah, blah. It does have a PCIe x16 slot, but no 6 pin power connector from the cheapie PSU. The bottom line is that it uses on-board Intel graphics (up to 256Mb shared RAM) (Foxconn motherboard, Intel® G33 Express Chipset, GMA 3100), and I would like to upgrade the video without having to upgrade the PSU (the nice PSU's seem to be $70+). I do basic video editing of movies of the kids, Photoshop, but I'm not a gamer at all. So my question is this....will I get a noticeable performance increase by using an ATI 256MB RADEON, vs the on-board Intel (rendering video and such)? Please explain why. I'd love a 512MB card, but it seems that all 512MB cards require a 6 pin power connector, which I don't have. Your thoughts? Thanks in advance for your replies.

December 5, 2009 6:35:05 PM

OF COURSE... Ati video cards support Stream Processing which basically picks up some load off the cpu.

however, I don't think I can help you regarding the 6-pin power connector.
I can help you by suggesting to buy a new PSU that has a 6-pin power connector.
How about getting a PSU that has 8-pin connector and then u can get one of the high-end Ati video cards that will do you a big favor in terms of the usability that you specified.

read about PSUs before getting one... get one with at least 80% efficiency... better 85% although these will be much pricier
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
December 5, 2009 11:55:51 PM

I second the 4650.
m
l
December 6, 2009 5:08:33 AM

Alot of video card comes with an adapter. The adapter plugs into the molex power and has the 2 six pins on the other end
m
l
a c 376 U Graphics card
December 6, 2009 5:12:07 AM