Prime95 i7 930 Error (*sigh* I'm a noob)

Benihana

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2009
Hello, sorry for asking such newbie questions. I recently bought the system setup as shown below. I have assembled computers in the past (albeit AMDs), and I don't overclock. I prefer to just run things at stock speeds.

However, after assembling the machine, it passes through just fine with the Small FFT test in Prime95, but fails on the Large FFTs and Blend. As I understand it, this could be a memory issue. I therefore ran MemTest86, and it reported 4 errors. Two on pass 37 and two on pass 42. I believe this may be a memory issue as I have 2 i7 930s and 2 of the same Asus MBs. I have only 1 stick of RAM for now and 1 PSU. I get the same errors in Prime95 with both setups. The only things remaining the same between the 2 setups is the memory and PSU.

I am a little confused as to how to setup my memory. I set everything in the BIOS to "Auto" which is the default action. However, my memory is read by CPU-Z as being clocked at 534 MHz instead of the anticipated 667 MHz. On the SPD tab, it shows 667 as an option with the volts listed as 1.5V. However, on my memory stick itself, it has a printed sticker which reads "9-9-9 @ 1.65V 2GB"

Now I have 3 questions:
1) My Prime95 errors on Large FFT and Blend are possibly due to memory. Have I merely set up my system incorrectly, or is it more likely the memory is truly bad?
2) Can I safely set the voltage manually to 1.65V (even though SPD shows 1.5V) to see if that gets me the 667 MHz?