Sign in with
Your question

Leaning toward an i5 750 build, help please!

Last response: in Systems
December 4, 2009 5:47:48 PM

**This is my first build, I'd like to overclock.

Hi all, on BF I thought I had purchased the parts for an i7 920 build I had been planning for over a month now. Unfotunately, my credit card company thought half my purchases that day were fraud, and rejected a number of them. Since I didn't realize it till a couple of days later, I lost out on the savings & rebates (around $200-300 when adding in the monitor) from Black Friday. Doh! Now I've reconsidered the i7, and am leaning toward building an i5 instead. These are the parts I succeeded in purchasing on Black Friday:

PSU - Corsair 650HX

Case - CM Storm Scout

OS - Win 7 64-bit

Optical - Lite-On DVD burner with Lightscribe

These orders went through, and I saved some decent coin. The Storm Scout was $49 in the end, and the PSU was something like $87 or so.

I was planning on the i7 at Microcenter for $199, but my combo order on the mobo and RAM was lost on BF. Since then people have recommended I go i5 since it's a lot cheaper, and I'm only a gamer. The i5 is $149 at Micro, but I'm unsure about what Mobo to buy. Moving from to an i5 build, from an i7, will be a couple of hundred cheaper. So my questions are:

1) What Motherboard should I buy?
-> I'd like the ability to crossfire, and/or SLI, since it would give my build some upgradability in the future. Adding a second GPU would extend the life of the parts/computer I'm building. If I'm reading things correctly, some ASUS boards support Crossfire, but not SLI, is this correct? If so then such a board would restrict me to purchasing Radeon cards right? Forgive my slight newbness, but asking stupid questions is the best way to get helpfull answers. :D 

Most seem to point toward Gigabyte & ASUS mobo's, my question is which model.

2) What GPU do you recommend, with said Mobo you think I should buy in question 1?