Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Extreme Budget Gaming Build

Last response: in Systems
December 5, 2009 1:44:10 AM

I am a very broke grad student who just got married and has a low-paying job. My current PC is a crappy Compaq from 2002 that was bad even for its time. I am taking IT courses now and am totally unable to do half of what I need to do.

I have $300 to spend on a computer. Yes, I know this is a laughable situation. Sorry.

I could go a tiny bit over $300 as long as it's nearer to $300 than to $350.

Help! I'm poor!

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: ASAP

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming from 2002-2008 and possibly current games on low settings. Also intense web apps and web design and programming. No video editing or anything like that.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, monitor, mouse, speakers, OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: n/a You tell me, please.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I'd like an AMD Dual/Quad Core Processor because they seem to give more bang per buck in reviews I've read.

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1600 x 1200 I guess. I don't care, honestly.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Ideally, I'd like something that can be upgraded without having to throw out all the old parts. I want something that won't overheat, and I know nothing about thermal control.

I want to be able to play older PC games I've missed in the past 5 or so years such as Oblivion, Civ 4, etc on decent to high settings. I know on this small of a budget I will need to skimp on either CPU, memory, or GPU, but I don't know which one can afford to take backseat.

I need experienced builders to help me.

Thanks, everyone.

Best solution

December 5, 2009 2:49:44 AM
December 5, 2009 2:57:22 AM

Wheres the mobo?
m
l
Related resources
December 5, 2009 2:59:42 AM

In the combo with the CPU.
m
l
December 5, 2009 3:02:08 AM

aford10 said:
In the combo with the CPU.

Whoops!
m
l
December 5, 2009 4:14:40 AM